Differences in the south end

The trail is substantially different in the south half. It’s true for a variety of reasons and I’ll list here some of my observations…

– Difference in the mountains (less rocky)
* More sections of clay not just rock and tree debris
* Fewer streams, more reliance on springs (could just e my perception)
– Difference in the trail
* More (any?) switchbacks
* Smoother trail (much of SNP construction was CCC projects not volunteers)
* More hardwoods and fewer conifers
– Difference in the hikers
* NOBOs are mostly gone
* SOBOs aren’t here yet (only really fast ones)
* Flip floppers are spread out a lot
* Mostly I see day/ section hikers
– Difference in the weather
* The thunderstorms are more severe
* Hot hot hot
– Flora is different
* More old hardwood canopies
* Blackberries instead of blueberries
– Differences in bugs
* More horseflies and deer flies
* Cicadas are here!
* Chiggers! Yuck!
– Fauna differences
* No moose
* More bears (I’ve seen 2 since starting VA)
* Poisonous snakes are back
* The early morning birds are less noisy…(unless there is a whippoorwill around)

I’ve also seen many more songbird feathers on the trail. I’m not really sure about the reason for that.

It’s still a physical challenge!
I’m sure I’ll see more changes as I hike.

Happy trails!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started