Crazy day

The astute will remember that at one time I hiked with Goldie. He was a nobo but now he’s done and rejoined society… except for when he reached back into the hiking world and offered up an oasis from the trail for a night at his sister’s place! I offered up some jambalaya!

All I had to do was get to the parking lot about 3:30.

It’s about 20 miles and that’s pretty early…

So I start early and keep the foot mostly on the gas…but there are some seriously cool things this day!
– Tinker cliffs
– McAfee knob

It starts out foggy but I’m on a mission.
As I come up on Tinker cliffs my sister in law (my wife’s younger sister) texts me and asks where I am….whuuuut?

It turns out she is not terribly far away and wanted to see me in person. Well heck yeah! So I persuaded my sis in law to join us at goldie’s sister’s place for jambalaya and Goldie and his sister were gracious enough to let her come by! So now I really need to be on time!

Long story short, I burned 20 miles in 9 hours, with almost 6k up, met Goldie, resupplied, went swimming in the pool, made dinner, enjoyed some fabulous fellowship with Goldie, his sister, his daughter, and my sister in law.

Oh, and there was a snek in a shelter I took a break in….

20.5 miles
5.9k up
6.3k down

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started