Finishing the smokies and several milestones!

I had some good whittle trail magic and a bunch of town food and got cleaned up and bounced back on the trail just before the break of day. I hiked out of Newfound gap this morning with a heavy pack but high spirits!

I was able to reach Clingman’s Dome before all the ground fog cleared on a clear sky day!

18 miles
4.3k up
4.5k down

Milestones:
2000 miles hiked!
<200 left!
More than 90% of the trail is completed!
10 hiking days (+/-) left!

So what’s up with the people?

Along my hike I’ve met a sight impaired hiker and a hearing impaired hiker. As much as what I’m doing seems difficult, I can’t imagine the added difficulty those hikers face.

For this mileage display I solicited help from other hikers. We made an attempt at forming 2000 using American sign language. Seeing as I looked it up in Google it may not be particularly accurate but it will remind me of the folks with greater challenges than I have who are hiking the trail. Thanks folks for the help!

2 thoughts on “Finishing the smokies and several milestones!

  1. you made them sign: 2, 10, 10, 10, kind of close, but not really, once again, you fucking it up
    but in any case, congrats on your 2k milestone, i’s a big one!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started