Day 6 uintahs highline

Today’s plan included 2 passes not fit for livestock. It would tee us up for exit tomorrow.

The first pass was sketchy up but all successful! We were the first up the pass after rain the night before so no real prints before us.
I added an image with my finger pointing out the pass on the wall.
Anyway, we got over the summit and I headed down a little early. It turns out that it goes better if you do NOT follow the dall sheep path on the downside. A short booty scoot down some scree and I was back on trail.

So we boogied down trail, took a wrong turn that added a mile and we’re thinking about the last pass. About that time we heard a rumble. A little cold temp and a little wind and a dark cloud said it was time for cover!

I snagged my tarp and put it up real quick!

Bill put up his tent and I ripped a hole in the fabric of time trying to go faster looking for two trees with no underbrush to throw up the tarp.
It just started the raining as Scott and I were getting the tarp Ridgeline up.
I rushed to secure the last line just as the marble sized hail started to fall.

It was a typical mountain blast. An hour later we were on our way and we got to camp with only a few rain bursts.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started